VU

You've seen these before. It's the old, "I'll wire you $3000 and you wire me my share of $2000". They always make it look like they're the middle man between you and their client. They send you fake scripts of some kind and appear to be fairly legit but of course, they're not. This one came from an audition I won on voices.com! So, if you hear from this person, Stay away! Here's some advice for some of you newer talents out there. If they refuse to use PayPal or Alert Pay, that is an immediate red flag. Here's the name and e-mail address;

merrin tullock

mrr_tullocksbabe@yahoo.co.uk

Share 

6 Comments

Joe McMillan Comment by Joe McMillan on November 22, 2008 at 10:02am
Hi Terry
Got the Same one!
I asked if they would use PAYPAL
He said NO
Kinda scary
Joe
Terry Daniel Comment by Terry Daniel on November 22, 2008 at 10:03am
Hey Joe! Did he write you from Voices.com? I'll let Stephanie know as well.
Joe McMillan Comment by Joe McMillan on November 22, 2008 at 1:00pm
Hi Terry
I did get it from Voices.com
a Message from my website
Terry Daniel Comment by Terry Daniel on November 22, 2008 at 1:02pm
What a moron. I'll let Steph know.
Dina Monaco-Boland Comment by Dina Monaco-Boland on November 23, 2008 at 9:36am
Hi Terry,

Thank you for posting this so that we are aware. Unfortunately these folks change their names and contact info quite often so they can try and fly under the radar.

I know I recently asked a question regarding bank transfers because Russia is not currently set up to send payments via paypal and was wondering about it's security (bank transfers). However, the scenario you've put forward never looks legit. It just does not make sense. In your example your fee is $1000 but the client will pay you $3000 and you must send back the overage of $2000. Why not just pay the $1000 instead of making this so convoluded? That should be a red flag to anyone.

I'll bet dollars to donuts this guy (girl?) will be back under a different name to try and snare some other mark (aka talent).
Terry Daniel Comment by Terry Daniel on November 23, 2008 at 9:45am
Yeah, they make it sound like 3K is the client's budget for the whole project and then they attempt to pay you YOUR share of that from their client's account, (fraudulent account) and then they request that you send them (middle man) their share. It's all a stupid scam. :)

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of VU to add comments!

Join this social network




Badge

Birthdays

Birthdays Tomorrow

Try Movie Edit Pro 14 Plus for 30 days - for FREE!

Notes

Comfort Zone

Created by Zurek Dec 5, 2008 at 1:33pm. Last updated by Zurek Dec. 5, 2008.

"Hello, ZUREK"

Created by Zurek Nov 24, 2008 at 10:28pm. Last updated by Zurek Nov. 25, 2008.

The 5 Keys to Building a Huge Network

Created by Zurek Nov 8, 2008 at 1:32pm. Last updated by Zurek Nov. 8, 2008.

You are your biggest PR Machine.

Created by Zurek May 16, 2008 at 8:00pm. Last updated by Zurek Oct. 19, 2008.

© 2009   Created by Zurek

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy  |  Terms of Service

You are Offline Sign in to chat!